Work Plan (dated)

Screen Shot 2017-06-01 at 12.56.35

Project Action Plan and Timetable

Week

Date Week

Beginning

 

Activity / What you are intending to do – including independent study Resources / What you will need to do it – including access to workshops
 

 

 

 

 

30/1/17

 

Introduction to Unit 7 – lecture

Pre proposal preparation

Pitch preparation

Review of work to date evaluate work to date and record this on blog.

 

Create a Microsoft word and Power point to show pitch begin to explore artists I need access to internet. Visit library to see if there are any books that would support my artist research.

 

   

13/2/17

 

Half Term –

initial research

Preparation of pitch. Begin to look at a range of designers and artists. Make a presentation and prepare for Pitching.

 

The resources I will require for this week are using my laptop for the internet and creating a presentation in preparation to pitch. Collect any articles found in magazines or newspapers that relate to my work (if there is any).

Reading through the books I have taken out of the library and noting any ideas.

 

   

20/2/17

 

Pitch and write up feedback on blog. Think about exploring different artists and record this on blog.

Write proposal and record on blog.

Dan Edwards employability lecture framer record the lecture notes and put them on my blog.

Collect further research start doing observational drawings. Beginning to think about texture and surface pattern within the research I am looking at.

 

 

Resources I will be using this week are my laptop to write my blog and record artist research. I will also be using basic drawing equipment and watercolours to begin to do some observational studies. I will also be using my camera to collect any primary research relating to my project which then will be uploaded to my blog.

   

27/2/17

 

Submit proposal

Begin taking photographs and start drawing and designing from findings. Negotiate with tutors about taking a morning session off to take photographs due to the weather becoming nicer.

Assemble these drawings in sketchbook, begin to think about what type of sampling I want to do and what I want to achieve.

Printing with honey comb using the print room liaise with staff about help setting the printing press up.

Also try Block Press printing and other ways to achieve the print.

 

The resources acquired for this week will be using my camera to take photographs of my local woodland, I will be needing to go to Max Spielmann to collect images and record costings in the back of my sketchbook.

Access to printing room and press so I will need to liaise with tutors to help me set up the press. I Will need basic printing equipment such as ink, oil to dilute ink, paper, printing roll. Then put samples of printing in sketchbook record the outcomes and what I feel worked effectively.

 

   

6/3/17

 

Collect additional primary research images of woodland to add to the ones took last week.

Begin to look at colour and create weave thinking about shape and textures found in the woodland environment.

Collect yarns and materials suitable for weaving, think about using waste and scrap material.

Set up a loom from scratch creating my own warp. Liaise with technicians about the help to do this.

Put research on blog connecting to weave visit local libraries for books on weaving techniques.

 

 

This week again I will need my camera to get additional photographs of primary research. Begin to think about colour palette collect yarns and materials suitable for weaving access to the textiles studios. I will need to negotiate with textiles technicians about weaving and setting up a loom with technical help, fabrics and yarns I will need access to.

The setting up of the loom and making my warp took 2 days which was longer than expected (record this on blog). Needing access to the internet and my laptop at college.

   

13/3/17

 

Gather more townscape research to start developing shape and contrast work made already.

Scan in prints and development work.

Speak to technicians about materials and silks.

Sample and experiment with Melting plastics & felting record success on blog.

Jamie’s lecture record this on blog and explain the benefits of the lecture.

What I need to further sample to evaluate:

Weave, cutting into acetate to create layering

Get photographs of primary research printed and then assemble in sketchbook.

UAL standardisation conference presentation with Zahraa record in (employability) on blog.

Booked in tutorial with Jo

Booked in tutorial with Danielle

Record the feedback of tutorials on blog.

 

I will need access again to a camera to take any additional shots for my project. I will need to speak to textiles department for advice on materials for a 3d outcome and sample more processes.

I will be using a heat gun to melt plastic I need to collect plastic bags and disposables to melt. Consider health and safety, open windows of the empty studio space I am working in using protective gloves and a heat proof tray to prevent fires. I will be using my laptop and access to the internet to write up on blog about sampling and lectures from this week.

 

With Zahraa create a presentation for Friday for the standardisation conference. We will need access to both our blogs negotiate a time where we can make this together, access to PowerPoint and to the presentation room where we can practice our pitch on blogging.

   

20/3/17

 

Scan in prints and development work. Look at what has worked effectively and decide what I need to do more sampling of.

Mac suite has been down. My home area is not working therefore I have not been able to complete designs for laser cutting. I do have some designs for stitch work.  However, I think the weave is more effective re-evaluate this on blog.

Design for screen for festival of making.

Order yarns from ETSY and EBAY for more sampling of textile pieces also can be used for final piece.

 

 

 

This week I will need access to the mac suite to scan in images and use Adobe Illustrator to design shapes found from my photographs I will then be manipulating these by stitching over them and creating layers. I need to negotiate with tutors about my home area being down and the difficulty I have faced creating this work.

I will need access to a sewing machine, threads material and basic sewing equipment.

I need to give textiles department my screen designs for the festival of making and I will need access to screen printing facilities.

Access to the internet to buy extra materials I need for my project.

 

   

27/3/17

 

Go to ASC and liaise with staff about getting mdf wood cut for plinths. Take the design and measurements and get wood cut to size.

Buy matt emulsion and wall filler to fill gaps on plinths (B&Q)

Sample more 3d textile outcomes using stitch, PVA glue, yarns and threads assemble samples in sketchbook and blog.

Order felts / wool for final piece creation (World of wool)

 

 

Negotiate with tutors an afternoon session to drive over to ASC as they only open Monday – Friday in the wood workshop department. Liaise with staff there about pricing of the wood and explain what it is that I am making.

 

Go to B&Q buy the materials I need in order for me to make my plinths.

Access to the textiles department to experiment creating textiles 3d outcomes. Access to my blog to record the process.

   

3/4/17

 

Festival of making, design & make extra garments. Digitally print garment liaise with technicians about doing some more felt workshops with the felt I have purchased to get the best 3d / textured outcome.

Also finishing off samples using PVA glue and procion dye.

 

 

Access to the textile department to begin to design and make garments. Access to the over lockers and sewing machines plus digital printer and screen printing facilities.

 

   

 

 

 

10/4/17

 

 

 

 

Easter Holiday

Bournemouth – whilst on holiday go to Poole Pottery and see if there is any interesting surface designs on the ceramic collection.

Get images of Poole pottery and put on blog.

Begin to sample 3d felt-making at home record this process and put on blog.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Gather imagery of Poole pottery, I will be needing access to my camera and laptop to then upload findings to my blog.

At home I will need to be using all felting equipment to begin sampling resources I will be using are hot soapy water, net, bubble wrap yarns and felting wool.

  17/4/17

 

 

Easter Holiday

Begin to make plinths, record all the process and upload this to my blog. Record the problems I faced when making the plinths. Take Plinths into college and begin to paint them with matt white emulsion ready for exhibition.

 

 

I will need access to my garage, I will need the support of a family member to build the bigger plinths. Resources I need are a hammer, nails, quark , hot glue gun and duct tape to assemble plinths.

I will need to take the plinths to college due to size negotiate with college to park my car on campus parking whilst taking plinths inside. Ask tutors to help me take plinths to studio.

 

   

24/4/17

 

 

Matt emulsion painting plinths. Making garments for festival of making. Negotiate with Danielle the best time to create garments as I need access to the textiles studios with the over locking machinery which for health and safety requires and overlooking staff member as it is an industrial machine.

Felt making trialling the best ways of doing it. Discuss with textiles technician options of ways to create 3d felt pieces that will look more interesting.

 

 

I will need access to floor space in the studio in order to paint plinths to a high quality. Using general painting equipment, paint brush, sponge, white emulsion.

 

For felting I need access to warm water in the studio soap, bubble wrap towel and net in order to felt.

 

Making garments for the festival of making using fabric I will need to do some pattern cutting so I need to negotiate with Danielle a time I can use the room. The use of the overlocking machine and general sewing equipment.

   

1/5/17

 

 

Making a set of pants for festival of making to complete outfits.

Visiting King Georges Hall Windsor suite to do a rehearsal for the fashion show on Saturday 6th of May. Discussing with models the itinerary and negotiating what they need for the day. Getting used to the layout and negotiating with models what to wear. Understanding timings.

Finishing plinths doing a top coat.

Using sketchbook to draw and plan how I want my exhibition to be presented.

Model for fad student their final garment. (One full morning session).

 

 

Again needing access to the textiles rooms in order to cut the pattern for the pants. Seeking assistance of textiles tutors on how to attach the pants as I had never made them before. Using machinery such as the bernina sewing machine and the over locker plus general sewing equipment such as pins, needles and threads.

General painting equipment for painting my plinths and drawing equipment for my plans.

   

8/5/17

 

 

 

Deadline FMP

Finishing of felt making attaching some of the felt pieces together using the embellishing machine. evaluate.

Setting up the fad studio moving the room around sanding and painting walls.

Begin to put wire through weave in order to create a more 3d outcome for final piece.

 

 

I will need access to the embellishing machine in order to attach some of my felt pieces. Using wire access to the woodwork room in order to put wire through my weave to make it appear more three dimensional.

 

   

15/5/17

 

 

 

 

Deadline

Hang Exhibition (prep studio)

Setting the studio space up painting the boards, sanding and taping areas to give a high quality finish.

Beginning to hang the show being allocated a space in the studio.

Assembling the plinths looking

mainly at presentation.

 

 

Access to paint, sand paper in order to help set up show. It is a group effort so everyone has been helping out with sanding and painting.

Thinking about organising plinths using my camera to record the process of me setting up.

   

22/5/17

 

 

 

Hang Exhibition

Submit blog link, submission pack ( including authentication form, work plan, proposal, evaluation and biobliography)

 

 

 

   

29/5/17

 

 

Spring Bank Holiday

 

 
   

5/6/17

 

 

Assessment Unit 7

 

 
   

12/6/17

 

Assessment Unit 7

 

 
   

19/6/17

 

Exhibition Private View 21/6/17

Extend on my blog images of the opening night. Evaluate how work was received by audience and add to my final evaluation.

 

 
   

26/6/17

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

