Dana Barnes / Studio

Ideas for presenting my final outcome from looking at her artwork.

Dana Banes is another artist who has influenced me greatly during my FMP. Similar to Dallinga I found her through Pinterest and then found her personal blog and website. She has created work inspired by rocks and lichen and this is the work I can connect to most and relate to.

A lot of her projects are based around texture and space. When looking at the work she did using lichen it has clear connection to the ideas that I am exploring.

I made my plinths inspired by the volcanic eruption which made the giants causeway. Through my project I have found more interest in the way that growth occurs on everything from rocks, to lampposts to trees, growths form.

From looking at her blog and her artwork you can see that she is influenced by architecture and the natural environment. I particularly like the way she displayed her art work about lichen using the rocks in the studio space and then casting elements adding real life to the pieces using growing lichen they look really effective. The colours she has used reflect the outside world which is also something I wanted to demonstrate when making my final piece.

She creates very textural compositions and you can see that she works in an experimental way from her sketching to actually creating a piece.The presentation of her work from studio to exhibition is interesting in exhibition space she has hung many of the pieces and this is giving me ideas about my presentation by adding height it adds another dimension to the viewer. It gives a better idea on scale but additionally it can make the viewer feel something. Things that are larger scale can look imposing and be quite intimidating when looking at her work on her blog these are the feelings I get. I don’t want my work to be huge and have an imposing feel but it is interesting to see.

B, Dana. Dana Barnes Studio. Available: http://www.danabarnesstudio.com/projects. Last accessed 14 May 2017.

Leave a Reply

