Hexagonal Plinth

After looking at Jennifer Moss “Overgrowth” work I have been truly inspired I have explored and experimented with many materials and I think felting is definitely going to form my final outcome.

At the beginning of the project I looked at the importance of hexagons in nature and how they’re formed, looking at bees and honey comb. The Giants Causeway has always amazed me it is a rock formation formed by a volcanic eruption they are perfect hexagonal steps and there’s hundreds of them. This lead me to the idea on a possible way I could display my final piece. So I have made a model and begun to think about size and scale. Also looking at Antony Gormleys sculptures I am amazed by how nature realms them by weathering them , growing on them and distorting them ( similar to the rocks at sea .) So exploring this idea of growth has lead me to a decision I could make hexagonal plinths of different sizes and then with a felted textile piece and weave I could drape and mould felt in order for it to look like the growth images I captured. To see if this could work I begun making plinths using cardboard.

A soon found that I would have to research more into the maths/ geometry behind a hexgaon and making a hexagonal plinth. So to make a model I had to work out each length of the side of hexagon. Inside the hexagon fits 6 equilateral triangles in order to make the plinth work and join all the sizes / angles have to be correct. Although I am only making a card model if this works effectively I will be using MDF wood. I have spoken to  Jamie Holden about making hexagonal plinths as he gave advice on me using MDF wood.

Making  the card model was quite tricky as I had to assemble the sides I used masking tape to hold the model together but this looks quite amateur. To make the model I used a cardboard box, measured using a ruler and then cut with a craft knife safety ruler and cutting mat. So I do have doubts about when it comes to making the real thing. However, I do think they look really effective and using variant heights they will look staggered like the giants causeway. I also think using hexagons will be a good contrast to my felted pieces as they are organic and not geometric looking.

The contrast between a wooden solid angled piece and a draped and crafted fabric I think will showcase my idea of growth. The hexagonal plinth will inform the idea of what man puts in the world using different sizes may make viewers think they are made by man like buildings however I have taken that inspiration from a natural disaster.

Leave a Reply

