Designing for screen

20.03.17 Screen Shot 2017-03-20 at 10.45.36 AM

Screen Shot 2017-03-20 at 10.52.18 AM

 

Designing for screen I am unsure about these designs I don’t think they fit the purpose of what my samples have shown  me , my strengths have lied in this project within weave and felt making and I really like the textured effect felt making gives.

Although this print is a illustration of the growths I think it is more interesting replicating this concept with physical material such as felt / weave. I have explored 3d felting which is referenced in my visual notebook and earlier on my blog and I think it was more successful then a print outcome, as it allows me to manipulate an change the material more.

I have tried this print and explored my mushroom print for the garments in the festival of making and I feel it is more successful for that outcome. Whereas, for my final piece after trying and sampling different methods and materials to achieve something that is more textiles based I feel felt will achieve a better outcome, especially after looking at the work of Sue Hotkis.

Leave a Reply

