Weaving taking inspiration from local woodland.

07.03.17

Yarns / Materials used.

Screen Shot 2017-03-10 at 18.20.10

I wanted to experiment with weave in order to create accents of colour from my photographs of my local woodland. I enjoy exploring materials and I think weave has massive potential behind it as you can stitch back into it, weave different materials like yarns, plastics, found materials , disposables etc. Create pattern and shape , which I am interested in. By using weave as  my medium I can explore conveying patterns found in nature and landscape. I wanted my weave to be made by myself where I could dictate the pattern and colour palette. This is my first weave using a loom and therefore is a sample that I will be working back into. I warped up my loom myself, the process of setting up a loom took me about 5 hours.

Making my warp, the warp dictates the pattern size and width of the weave, this is an important thing to consider when making a weave. On reflection of my sample weave next time I think it would be interesting to dye up my warp before hand possibly dip dye so then  I would get a variant of colour.

The weft is the materials such as yarn you wish to put through the weave in my sample I tried loads of different materials such as: cassette tape, hair, yarn , wool, silk yarn etc. I personally think the sample is effective it achieves what I set out to do and that was to experiment with different materials creating different patterns and learning how to weave using the loom. Next time I plan to investigate creating more patterns such as cramming and spacing areas of weft to get different effects.

First Step of making my weave was to measuring half an inch of yarn and see how many times it would wrap round. (The warp must be calculated before the warp can be made, as your warp goes under and over the weft. Without producing a long enough warp your final outcome maybe smaller than you anticipate.) In my case it wrapped 16 times therefore I had to times that by 10 = 160. That dictated how many times to go around the warping mill to end up with the size of weave I had decided on. Within the 160 measurement that included what would be waste as excess was left on either side of the loom. I could then start threading up the loom below is photographs of me and the process of making my warp and finally making my sample outcome.

4

colour palette, neutral colours that are found in nature, taken inspiration from my photographs.

image 1

In this section I used a fork and made shapes in order to get a organic flow of shapes. I used a fork to act as my reed to pull the weft down. I think this is effective but would work better when doing a weave on a frame.

image 2

Taking the tension of the loom, I added elastic to enable me to add texture and movement which is found in lichen. I will experiment more with this.

5

Adding organic tones

3

Me and with the help of a student mixing to yarns together in order to create my own yarn.

6

Weaving.

7

 

 

Leave a Reply

