Weave Research

06.03.17

Ismini Samasnidou 

Textile design (2014) Available at:http://www.isminimanidou.com (Accessed: 8 March 2017).

Studied at CSM and the Royal College of Art. Her work is really interesting to me as she takes inspiration from her travels and what is around her in her environment. She represents this through weave and textile pieces. She has also done commissions for buildings and galleries. My favourite work of hers is the Siberia piece she did which she made in 2007. Dimensions of the work are w.90cm 1.300cm. I like the piece because it was inspired by an aerial view photographs which she took when flying over Siberia, I think this is really interesting due to the scale of what you can see when you are above. You can see the landscape and how she has conveyed this within her work. You can see through her colour palette that the land was frozen she has used icy blues and tertiary colours and they work in harmony with one another. I like her approach to weave as it is very contemporary and she is taking inspiration from new findings. I find weave a really good way of being able to explore texture and surface design. Using different fibres and materials you can create really interesting pieces.

Also on her website it shows her working in Bangladesh making reeds when I was weaving I used a metal and wood reed to comb through the yarn to make the warp. However, traditionally in Bangladesh they used bamboo. Screen Shot 2017-03-08 at 18.58.19Screen Shot 2017-03-08 at 18.58.22Screen Shot 2017-03-08 at 18.59.03Screen Shot 2017-03-08 at 19.00.08Screen Shot 2017-03-08 at 19.00.28

Marianne Kemp

Home Archieven – Marianne Kemp (no date) Available at: http://horsehairweaving.com/mariannekemp/project-type/home/ (Accessed: 8 March 207).

Kemp uses unconventional weaving techniques she specializes in weaving with horse hair. Her work is experimental and explorative and I really like the style in which she works.It is clear to see from her website she takes pride in her work and all artwork is displayed well. She has worked collaboratively with other artists and designers, she has used materials such as felting within her weaves and I think these have created really interesting textures and outcomes and is definitely something I will consider. I particularly like the cushions which she created. She has also collaborated with architects and has made a light piece, again I find this interesting. As the light completely transforms the fabric. Thinking about presenting a textiles outcome using the photography studio and lighting up different pieces would be something interesting to experiment.

Screen Shot 2017-03-08 at 19.19.58Screen Shot 2017-03-08 at 19.19.32Screen Shot 2017-03-08 at 19.17.24Screen Shot 2017-03-08 at 19.15.48

Bauhaus

Droste, M. and Staff, B.-A. (2006) Bauhaus, 1919-1933. 25th edn. Germany: Taschen America.

I sourced this book from my textiles technician, inside shows some great images of textile pieces that are very geometric. I want to bring this element of geometric shapes into my weaves and I have taken inspiration from this book. Once collecting my own primary research of Blackburn I will start to make outline drawings showing shapes and lines. It also explains about planning weaving and how it is important to have a design concept. At the moment I just plan on exploring the different techniques and experimenting with materials and fibres to see what sort of patterns I can make. In the Bauhaus period it allowed people to become more investigative of materials, new patterns were made. The knowledge of weave , knot tying and materials was extended. The textiles classes became weaving workshops lots of women where involved and encouraged to create soft furnishings like carpets they worked with joinery classes and added experimental work to the House of Horns.

 

Leave a Reply

