Initial Research to begin development

Week 1 (20.02.17)

Agentha Dyck

After my pitch it was suggested to me that I look at Dycks work as I want to do some experimental photography in bee hives with honey comb.

Dyck is a Canadian artist who has uses honey comb in some of her work and sculptures. She makes the porcelien figures and effectively leaves them in hives which allows the bees to begin making their honey. My dad keeps bees and I’ve always been fascinated by their natural ability to create honey in such a mathematical and specific process different bees do different things within the hive. The bees create their honey to store and keep it to feed them in the colder months it is only humans that have extracted the honey. When looking at Dyck’s work I’m drawn to the way she has allowed the bees to wrap the honey comb I like the texture it creates and the contrast it has between the porcelain figures. In effect Dyck has contrasted this natural form with the ignorance of the human world. She is also interested in the conservation of bees. Similarly, her work is beneficial to me as I want to contrast the natural forms with the modern architecture we find around us. I’m interested in contrasting these shapes and textures in forms of print, drawing and design. From looking at her work I plan to take photographs of my bees and their hives in order to get some initial primary research.

Aganetha Dyck: Canadian artist (no date) Available at: http://www.agenthadyck.ca (Accessed: 23 February 2017.)

Ed Weston

Ed Weston is a photographer who I find really inspiring, I love the way he captures natural forms in such an intricate way. He makes the viewer focus on the detail, this is a perfect example of how I want to develop my work. I will take photographs of natural forms and rotting fruits to get textures in order for me to make pattern and begin to develop ideas. Weston’s work captures texture and patterns within vegetables and fruits and it almost makes the viewer forget what you are looking at. Similar to Georgia O’Keeffe they both focus on detail, using different mediums to illustrate their object.

“Weston made a series of monumental close-ups of seashells, peppers, and halved cabbages, bringing out the rich textures of their sculpture-like forms.”

These works are the ones I am most interested in, the natural forms and shapes are something I want to focus on. I like the shapes and patterns found within the fruits and how abstract they can become.

Garrison, L.(2017) Home. Available at: http://edward-weston.com (Accessed: 23 February 2017).

Georgia O’Keefe

O’Keefe is best known for her floral paintings it is these artworks I like most, she focusses on detail and zooming into areas of her object. I find the paintings fascinating. I like how the shapes and use of colour make the paintings appear quite abstract. Rather than focussing on the whole subject she paints particular parts and I appreciate how she has selected areas. She brings the viewers’ attention back to flowers and makes the viewer appreciate the natural form. She takes natural forms but instead of just focussing on the exterior it is clear to see in her practice that she also focusses on the interior and looks closer and at a deeper level at her subject matter. Her paintings are beautiful the emanate the beauty and delicate nature that flowers have. The blend of colours and the colour palette she uses are interesting she often uses limited colours of variant shades which work in harmony with one another. Some of her works are more abstract then others these works I prefer as they are more just about shape and colour and the beauty that can be found inside. You can see that upcoming designers such as Atlier Bingo have taken inspiration from work that O’Keefe has produced more predominately focussing on shape rather than just outlining the form. This work connects with my own ideas because I want to look at different natural forms magnify them and zoom into areas in order to develop some drawings. By looking into my subject matter closer it will give me more interesting outcomes and help me achieve a less obvious floral print.

Below is a short link of a video uploaded by the Tate on O’Keeffe and visiting her exhibition.

http://www.tate.org.uk/whats-on/tate-modern/exhibition/georgia-okeeffe

(No Date) Available at: http://www.boigraphy.com/people/georgia-okeeffee-9427684 (Accessed:23 February 2017.)

Leave a Reply

